Friday, 17 October 2008

Dido named songwriter of the year at Ascap awards

Dido was named songwriter of the year at the 2008 Ascap awards, which took place in London last night.

John Beck and Steve Chrisanthou won song of the year for Corinne Bailey Rae's Put Your Records On, while EMI Music Publishing managing director Guy Moot was named publisher of the year.

Husband and wife songwriting/production team Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson performed at the event, which took place at the Grosvenor House hotel, while attendees included Annie Lennox, Sir George and Lady Martin, The Human League's Philip Oakey and New Order's Gillian Gilbert, Bernard Sumner and Stephen Morris.

The night, which was hosted by Ascap senior vice president, international, Roger Greenway and vice president, membership, Seán Devine, honoured writer and publisher members of the PRS whose repertory is licensed by Ascap and was among its most performed works in the US during 2007.

Those honoured on the night included Annie Lennox, who collected her eighth Ascap Award for Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This), co-written with Dave Stewart, Paulo Nutini, AC/DC's Brian Johnson, Phil Collins, Def Leppard, Gomez, The Human League, Keane's Tim Rice Oxley, Mutt Lange, Paul McCartney, New Order, The Rolling Stones' Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, U2 and Yusuf Islam.

Greenaway says, “We’re very pleased to celebrate the achievements of the writer and publisher members of the PRS whose music is represented by ASCAP in the United States. I’m especially pleased to pay tribute to Nick Ashford and Valerie Simpson. Their songs have truly stood the test of time. My sincerest congratulations to them and to all of tonight’s honorees.”

No comments:

Post a Comment